8 Must-Read New Books Of This Monsoon: DE MODE OF LITERATURE

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED IN DE MODE OF LITERATURE (Vol IV, Issue XXII) | Article Published on: 6th Sept 2021 | www.demodemagazine.com


Among all seasons, the monsoon is undoubtedly the best season. Sitting by the window and sipping a cup of hot coffee as you watch the rain pouring outside. A lot has been written about this rainy season. It’s better to read books along with a cup of coffee, truly amazing!! Here we look at eight books by six brilliant authors that are recommended as a must-read for this monsoon season.


Crown of Crowns by Author Clara Loveman, Cold Consequences by Author David Rohlfing, The Lesbian Whisperer by Author Taylor S. Norman, Doom of Stars by Author Martyn Rhys Vaughan, Adventurer at Sea by Author Margreit Maitland, Reflection by Author Adam Ostaszewski.


1. 'CROWN OF CROWNS' - BY AUTHOR CLARA LOVEMAN

ABOUT THE BOOK

Crown of Crowns is the first instalment of a futuristic new YA saga by Clara Loveman, described as "sweeping, epic, and engrossing" with an "intriguing and twisting plot" that's perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and The Divergent Trilogy.


Booklife: Loveman's fast-paced young adult fantasy series, collected in an edition containing the first novel and its sequel, tells of a privileged teen whose eyes are opened to how the rest of the world lives: mostly in poverty. In a futuristic world where robots have taken most jobs and science has made most illnesses impossible, Kaelyn thinks everyone in the world is happy. She falls for Roki, who shows her that only a small handful of royal families are truly happy. After her mother is murdered and Roki disappears, Kaelyn must turn heartbreak into determination, first starting a foundation in her mother's name and then accepting that helping her people means marrying Prince Zawne and becoming king and queen. Then life gets complicated. (Readers eager to avoid spoiling the second book's premise should skip to the next paragraph.) After she's crowned, a deadly virus is released, and Kaelyn realizes that the only way to save her kingdom is to give up her own life and become a powerful spirit.


Balancing actions with consequences, Loveman makes this apocalyptic story complicated in the right way, reminding readers that people will be complex no matter how advanced the society. After making an epochal choice at the end of the first book, Kaelyn discovers that nothing will be as simple as she had hoped—her choices now ripple across her world and even her galaxy. Rather than clear good or bad guys, this series concerns shades of humanity, driven by love and desires. She creates an intriguing new world with varied continents, seasons, clans, social classes, and advancements in technology. As the story grows, it expands to an entire detailed and fascinating galaxy of different worlds, creatures, and the city at the center of it all, where spirits come together to influence–good or bad–the rest of us. The choices characters make in the final pages will stir reader debate, but the journey is certainly worth it.


Get your copy now!!


DIRECT LINK TO BUY THE BOOK IN INDIA - CLICK HERE

DIRECT LINK TO BUY THE BOOK IN ALL COUNTRIES - CLICK HERE


BOOK REVIEWS
  • "A coming-of-age novel with elements of romance, SF, and fantasy, set in a royal court… An original and creative YA tale with a likable lead." -Kirkus.

  • Clara Loveman's novel had me reading non-stop for a week. I would totally recommend this tale of teenage love, bravery, nobility, intrigues, robots, and worlds ever imagined to anyone ready to enjoy the wonderful creativity of the author. Looking forward to learning more about Loveman's literature!

  • This book was extraordinary! It took me to a place beyond my wildest dreams. I loved this book and it was very well written. I highly recommend it!

  • If you love romance, sci-fi, mystery, and dystopia-themed novel, then this book is recommended to you.

THE JOURNEY OF AUTHOR CLARA LOVEMAN

Clara Loveman lives in Maidenhead, UK, a riverside town not far from Windsor. She has been featured in TBHonest.co.uk, Syfy.com, Female First, and on BBC Radio, and her debut Young Adult novel, Crown of Crowns, has recently been longlisted for The Diverse Books Award. Born in Nairobi, Kenya, she identifies as Kenyan and British with dual citizenship.

She's an avid reader, keen walker, and is at her happiest when she's writing her first draft. She writes at high speed, using a rough outline, but considers the acts of rewriting and revising long, seemingly endless processes. A good day of writing for Clara is five to seven hours, late into the night. For entertainment, she enjoys romance, drama, and fantasy work at home or the cinema. At university, she majored in pharmaceutical sciences and public health. She loves the arts equally and could have easily chosen to study the arts, possibly specializing in creative writing. However, Clara is proud of her science background and thinks it has enabled her to write more confidently in fantasy and science fiction. She graduated from Liverpool John Moores University and has an MPH from the University of Sheffield. She currently works in the pharmaceutical industry.


Read Author Clara Loveman's interview with DE MODE & about her upcoming book in the JUL-AUG-SEP 2021 GLOBAL ISSUE (LITERATURE). Download/Order the full issue here.


2. 'COLD CONSEQUENCES & DELIBERATE DUPLICITY: A DETECTIVE SASHA FRANK MYSTERY SERIES'- BY AUTHOR DAVID ROHLFING

ABOUT THE BOOK: COLD CONSEQUENCES

It was almost 1 a.m. on a Saturday morning when Ashley drove down the dark street on Bloomington’s west side in the BMW 3-series convertible her father had given her as a college graduation gift. She was on her way to meet D to buy an opioid known on the street as “beans.” She parked near the intersection where the dealer had instructed her to wait.


A few hours earlier, she’d texted D that her need was desperate. He let her know he couldn’t meet her then at the Uptown Normal bar, their usual meeting spot, but he could the following night. Ashley texted back that she needed her pills now, so he agreed to meet her at a street corner near